MAGTUG Seminar @ Burlington Co GIS Day – Nov 2, 2016

Register now to celebrate GIS Day with MAGTUG at Rowan College at Burlington County on November 2nd.  Information on this full-day GIS Day event can be found HERE.  There will be speaker presentations throughout the morning and an afternoon of GPS and GIS activities, including a MAGTUG seminar that begins at 1:00.

Title – MAGTUG Seminar: How to Model Infrastructure in 3D

Abstract –  Technological advances have made it easier and cheaper to work with 3-Dimensional data.  This workshop will introduce options for collecting 3D data ‘from the ground up’, that is, from ground-based manual surveys, to mobile and aerial collection systems, to the new unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs or drones) carrying cameras and GPS receivers.  Representatives will illustrate how commonly used software (ArcGIS, MicroStation, and AutoCAD) can be used to analyze and display 3D data, and a panel of presenters will discuss tradeoffs among alternatives.

REGISTER HERE FOR GIS DAY EVENT

MAGTUG SEMINAR AGENDA

  • 1-1:05 Introduction (Matt Lawson, mlawson@mercercounty.org)
  • 1:05-1:50 “How Desktop Apps Have Evolved to Manage 3D Data Once You Have It”
    • Esri – Patrick Gahagan (pgahagan@esri.com)
    • Bentley Systems – Kurt Rasmussen (kurt.rasmussen@bentley.com)
    • AutoDesk – George Hatch (george.hatch@autodesk.com)
  • 1:50-1:55 Break
  • 1:55-3:10 “Data Collection – Equipment, Method, and Examples”
    • Traditional and GPS-Enhanced Surveying and Ground Control – Bob Pliszka, JMT (bpliszka@jmt.com)
    • Mobile LiDAR – TBA, Michael Baker
    • Aerial LiDAR and Stereo Orthophotos – Wesley Weaver, Keystone Aerial Surveys (wweaver@kasurveys.com)
    • DIY Models with Drones/UAS – George Hatch, AutoDesk & 3DR (george.hatch@autodesk.com)
    • Drone Images to 3D Models with ArcGIS – Patrick Gahagan, Esri (pgahagan@esri.com)
  • 3:10-3:40  “Tradeoffs of Alternative Methods”
    • Panel Discussion – Moderator: Dave Wagner, Greenman Pederson (dwagner@gpinet.com)

 

 

Advertisements